Position	Driver	Team
1	Alex Bowman	Hendrick Motorsports
2	Denny Hamlin	Joe Gibbs Racing
3	Ryan Blaney	Team Penske
4	Chase Elliott	Hendrick Motorsports
5	Joey Logano	Team Penske
6	Kevin Harvick	Stewart-Haas Racing
7	Darrell Wallace Jr.	Richard Petty Motorsports
8	Erik Jones	Joe Gibbs Racing
9	Ricky Stenhouse Jr.	Roush Fenway Racing
10	Clint Bowyer	Stewart-Haas Racing
11	Kurt Busch	Stewart-Haas Racing
12	Kyle Busch	Joe Gibbs Racing

# **Drivers To Watch**

# **Truex on Defense**



All eyes will be on Martin Truex, Jr., on

NASCAR Sunday as he puts his NASCAR

Monster Energy Cup Series championship on the line.

Truex, 37, put together a dominant year in 2017 that featured eight wins, three poles and more than 2,200 laps led.

Truex drives the No. 78 car for Furniture Row Racing, a Toyota-powered team. Toyota had the upper hand for much of the 2017 season, winning 14 of the last 19 races and 16 races overall. Neither Chevrolet nor Ford had more than 10 victories last year.

# Johnson in the Mix



Seventime champion
Jimmie Johnson is look-

ing to get 2018 off to a good start after a disappointing — to his standards — 2017 campaign.

Johnson is attempting to push past Dale Earnhardt and Richard Petty and win his record eighth NASCAR crown. He won three races last season but finished 10th in the standings.

Time will tell if Johnson can get back on top, but a strong finish at Daytona would help give his team confidence as the 2018 schedule heats up.

# DAYTONA 500 PREVIEW

# STRONG Showing

Alex Bowman Trying To Make A Name For Himself

lex Bowman is making his predecessor proud. Bowman, the successor to Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro ZL1, will start in the pole position at Sunday's season-opening Daytona 500.

It will be Bowman's first official competition as the full-time driver of the No. 88 car for his Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series career.

## **QUALIFYING PERFORMANCE**

Bowman earned pole positioning after speeding around Daytona International Speedway in 46.002 seconds in the second and final round. The time translated to an average speed of 195.644 mph.

Bowman is the 41st different driver to win a Daytona 500 pole.

Under a format in which the only the two frontrow qualifiers are locked into their starting positions for the Great American Race, Bowman finished just ahead of second-place Denny Hamlin, who won the Daytona 500 in 2016.

## OTHER POSITIONING

Last season's Monster Energy Series Sunoco Rookie of the Year, Erik Jones, finished sixth in qualifying. Other notable names included Kevin Harvick in eighth and Danica Patrick in 28th for her last start in a Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series car.

**WHAT:** Daytona 500

WHEN: 2:30 p.m. ET, Sunday, Feb. 18

COVERAGE: FOX, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio

